About PSC Driver Improvement Courses

The Continuing Education Department offers a variety of driver improvement courses! These courses comply with section 318.1451 Florida Statute.

  • Motorcycle Safety Foundation Basic Rider Course – 15 hours; This course is designed for drivers that wish to obtain their motorcycle endorsement. Offered every weekend on Pensacola campus
  • ONLINE COURSES: (These courses are taught on-line using American Safety Council Instructors and curriculum.)
  • Advanced Driver Improvement (ADI) – 12 hours; This course is designed for drivers that have a suspended and/or revoked driver’s license due to multiple traffic citations.
  • Basic Driver Improvement (BDI) – 4 hours; This course is designed for drivers who have received a minor traffic citation. Note: Students must have their citation number and driver’s license accessible.
  • First-Time Driver’s Course– 4 hours; This course is designed to familiarize first-time drivers with lawful and courteous driving habits. Meets the requirements for TLSAE.
  • Judge Ordered Traffic Course – 8 hours; This course will fulfill the requirement of an 8-hour traffic class that a court or judge has ordered.
  • Mature Driver Course – 6 hours; This course is designed for drivers over 55 with a Florida Driver’s License to save money on car insurance by taking a 6-hour prevention course.

For more information, contact Continuing Education office at (850)484-1797 or at ce@pensacolastate.edu Please note: We DO NOT have any “Behind the Wheel” driving courses

PSC Driver Improvement Courses

Advanced Driver Improvement Online

Have a suspended driver’s license due to multiple traffic
citations? Implement better driving habits and deter the
irresponsible behaviors that lead to habitual traffic offenses,
suspensions and/or revocation. Instruction is online. Student
will need to supply driver’s license or state identification card
number, the most recent citation number and, if applicable, the
court case number for course completion to be processed. (12
hours)

Course R 04644.
Online American Safety Council
Open Enrollment

Basic Driver Improvement Online

For individuals who have received a minor traffic citation — this
online course is to help licensed drivers function more effectively
and efficiently in traffic. Provide citation number, driver’s
license number and, if applicable, court case number for course
completion to be processed. (4 hours)

Course R 04203.
Online American Safety Council
Open Enrollment

First Time Driver Online

Course meets the state requirement for TLSAE/DATA (Traffic
Law and Substance Abuse Education). It will familiarize first-time
drivers with lawful, courteous driving habits. Individuals ages 17
and under are required to take this course in order to receive
their learner’s permit. Individuals 18 and older are required
to complete this course before taking their driver’s exam and
receiving their driver’s license. (4 hours)

Course R 04204.
Online American Safety Council
Open Enrollment

Judge Ordered Traffic Course Online

This course will fulfill the requirement to complete an 8-hour
traffic class that a court or judge has ordered. (8 hours)

Course R 04645.
Online American Safety Council
Open Enrollment

Mature Driver Course Online

For students over 55 years old with a Florida Driver’s License
to possibly save money on car insurance by taking a 6-hour
accident prevention course. (6 hours)

Course R 04646.
Online American Safety Council
Open Enrollment